First Title Company

Formerly First American Title Company
www.firsttitlecompany.com

Best of the Best

JUNE 2013

Locally owned and committed to the Coastal Bend for over 50 years and still going strong!

HOLLY: 361.993.2033 • EVERHART: 361.991.1231 • PORT ARANSAS: 361.749.4877

WHAT'S IN A NAME?


As you will note First American Title Company of the Coastal Bend is now First Title Company. It is simple and to the point.

It is the same great locally owned company as before. It just has a new name and a cool new logo. To make it simple we changed the name very little. First Title Company has a new web page and Facebook page. Go to www.firsttitlecompany.com or like us at First Title on our Facebook page.

So thank you for your business. We appreciate it. This company has been committed to the Coastal Bend for over 50 years and we hope to be here for another 50.

Thank you again for supporting the most experienced title team in the Coastal Bend.

Arnold Gonzales, Jr.

(361) 779-1738 - Cell • arnold@arnoldgonzalesjr.com

Arnold Gonzales Jr.
Attorney at Law

TITLE TIPS

In the past, I have given tips, suggestions, and ideas about real estate related matters that real estate professionals may encounter on a regular basis. My intent has always been to provide information to real estate professionals that would assist in the development of their business relationship with their clients. For this newsletter issue, I thought it would be instructive to comment on the some of the reasons why title insurance is vital in virtually every real estate transaction. First, most lenders will require that their borrower/buyer provide them with title insurance protection as part of their loan transaction. Second, if there is no lender in the picture, buyers will want to insist that the seller provide them with a policy of title insurance. As real estate professionals, that should be near the top of the list for advice to your clients. Title insurance protects a party in the event that there is some issue with title from the seller, and in many cases from parties upstream in the chain of title. I have seen cases where title issues upstream in the chain of title have caused parties considerable personal expense and effort to defend title because there was not a title policy in place. Title insurance is more than peace of mind - it protects the integrity of your property's title. Choosing which title company to use to escrow and provide for issuance of title insurance is a negotiable matter between the buyer and the seller. Don't ever let anyone tell you that the parties have to use a certain title company. For the parties it comes down to people, service, and experience. As First American Title Company of the Coastal Bend changes its name to First Title Company, the quality of service, the character of the people, and the integrity that comes from experience will not change and will stay the same. First Title Company remains locally owned, locally staffed, and locally focused on its clients - you , the real estate professionals of the Coastal Bend. My title tip for today is to take advantage of the people, services, and experience of First Title Company. When it comes to title companies, there is none better. And, of course, you have an open line to me as First Title's outside General Counsel.

Have a wonderful and successful summer!


THANK YOU
FOR YOUR BUSINESS!!

FACES OF EXPERIENCE

ADMINISTRATION

Ashley Chesney
Ashley Chesney
achesney@firstamcoastalbend.com

Betty Vickers
Betty Vickers
bvickers@firstamcoastalbend.com

Hugo Berlanga
Hugo Berlanga
Bbcberlanga@yahoo.com

ADMIN/PLANT

Brinda Jones
Brinda Jones
bjones@firstamcoastalbend.com

PLANT

Johnnie Batten
Johnnie Batten
jbatten@firstamcoastalbend.com

Wanda Hale
Wanda Hale
wanda@firstamcoastalbend.com

Yolanda Garza
Yolanda Garza
ygarza@firstamcoastalbend.com

HOLLY OFFICE

Tricia Hogan
Tricia Hogan
thogan@firstamcoastalbend.com

Rosie Lopez
Rosie Lopez
rlopez@firstamcoastalbend.com

Cindy Bueno
Cindy Bueno
cindy@firstamcoastalbend.com

Kellee Newell
Kellee Newell
knewell@firstamcoastalbend.com

Star Garza
Star Garza
sgarza@firstamcoastalbend.com

Esmi Gonzalez
Esmi Gonzalez
esmi@firstamcoastalbend.com

EVERHART OFFICE

OUTSIDE REAL ESTATE AND
TITLE GENERAL COUNSEL

Kris Cardona
Kris Cardona
krisc@firstamcoastalbend.com

Jeri Mathisen
Jeri Mathisen
jerim@firstamcoastalbend.com

Arnold Gonzales, Jr.
Arnold Gonzales, Jr.
Attorney at Law
arnold@firstamcoastalbend.com

PORT ARANSAS OFFICE

Glenda Balentine
Glenda Balentine
gbalentine@firstamcoastalbend.com

Vanessa Brundrett
Vanessa Brundrett
vbrundrett@firstamcoastalbend.com

Barbara Stech
Barbara Stech
bstech@firstamcoastalbend.com